O.A. designed gear in MMO’s

Posted: 17/05/2009 in Opinionz, TechBitz

I have noticed one thing about most MMORPG games here in the Philippines. Do you know what it is?

Its the over reacted designs of armors, weapons and other stuff players use to hack, slash or even defend themselves.

I mean, if you look at Squaresoft’s big game Final Fantasy you’ll notice that Yuna, Tidus, Squall, and every FF characters have simple set of clothes, vest or armors yet its simply effective and efficient not to mention people dig it.

All Im saying is that if game designers focus on simplicity rather than the usual exotic designs (not to mention some of them have some kind of glow in the dark, luminous effect) maybe MMO can have a better change.

Every MMO update hundreds of new armors and weapons come up, and the higher the level you are the more “exotic” your gears of war get. Lat time I saw a wizard in MU Online and his set of armor was glowing yellow and its even brighter than a christmas tree. And when he tried to show his staff (the one he use to whack monsters out of their misery) I thought he was holding a lamp post.

I guess it will be cooler if Game developers design a few simpler sets than a hundred over reacted ones where they most likely to tag “Rare Items”

Comments
  1. palikpik says:

    i agree parang OA n sa kalakihan ng armor unlike cloud strife or taidus hahaha kagaya nga ng sinasabi nila simplisity is the best nice point bro idol!

  2. I was just searching for about this when I came upon your blog post. I’m simply dropping by to say that I very much enjoyed reading this post, it is very well written. Are you thinking of blogging more about this? It appears like there’s more fodder here for future posts.

    • Gen says:

      Yeah there’s more to come haha thank you so much for the comment I appreciate it, I still got many things in my mind that I would like to blog about (Im a man of few words thankfully there’s wordpress where I can put my thoughts) I’ll keep posting since I enjoyed it Thank you very much.

Leave a Reply

