Migraine

Posted: 25/05/2009 in Thats life

The fiendish headache that keeps me away from the computer, yes, the very same headache I have been experiencing since I was a child.
According to http://www.wikipedia.org:
Migraine is a neurological syndrome characterized by altered bodily perceptions, headaches, and nausea. Physiologically, the migraine headache is a neurological condition more common to women than to men. Etymologically, the French word migraine derives from the Old English megrim (severe headache) and the Greek hemicrania (half skull). The latter term was in turn simply a translation of an ancient Egyptian name for migraine, gs tp (literally “half head”).[citation needed]

The typical migraine headache is unilateral and pulsating, lasting from 4 to 72 hours;[1] symptoms include nausea, vomiting, photophobia (increased sensitivity to bright light), and hyperacusis (increased sensitivity to noise); approximately one third of people who suffer migraine headache perceive an aura — unusual visual, olfactory, or other sensory experiences that are a sign that the migraine will soon occur.

Its true that I have developed the so-called aura. I know when its coming or not, its like an early warning device. At first I glance at the sky or the floor if I see a glint of light (I know its weird) or blur then that is the beginning of a looooong rest, usually lasting for hours, all I do is lie on the bed and wait. At first its only visual disturbance, then I vomit then lastly the severe headache. This summer I suffered my first ever 5 day migraine marathon due to excessive radiation of the laptop. I believe Im starting to develop a slight resistance to it because every time I have one I’ll just relax and let the blood flow slow down.

Leave a Reply

