Rich Dad Poor Dad

Posted: 05/08/2011 in The Book Mark

Rich Dad Poor Dad By Robert Kiyosaki

 

I remember when I was very young I used to look up to Batman and Spawn as my childhood heroes and watch their shows or tell my mom to buy me the new Batman action figures or Spawn comics. Now that I’m 21 years old I still say I have a hero that I look up to and those are my parents, Donald Trump and of course the author of the all time best selling personal finance book of all time, Robert Kiyosaki. Rich Dad Poor Dad is Robert’s first book and it sold more than 21 million copies.

Robert Kiyosaki will definitely challenge the way we think about money, taxes, debt, the government and life. You’ll learn that the things that you thought will save you when you retire (such as retirement plans, social securities and loans) will not be enough and most of it will be gone in a few years. The taxes that poor and middle-class people pay is so enormous than what rich people pay that most of them end up working harder and longer in their lives. Most people end up in the “rat race” or an endless cycle of working and paying taxes, credits and loans that we never get out till we get old.

It will also give you an overview of what our educational system did not teach us when we are in school. Sure my school thought me about accounting, demand, supply, budgeting and all those economic theories however these are all academic which means not all of them teaches us how to save money at the end of the day or invest it in a profitable venture. This book however will be a good investment to teach yourself what our schools don’t such as investing, real estate and how to pay yourself first.

I would say that I loved this book ever since I knew about it that I immediately bought one. I was never wrong because while reading this book I became more aware of my spending habits and how my emotions sometimes do the thinking for me. I would definitely recommend this book especially to parents out there so you can teach your children more about money. I’ll never forget what Robert said, that we learn about money firstly in our home and that’s definitely true. Parents should also know that saying “get good grades, graduate from college and get a safe and secure job” is an ANCIENT advice. The age we live in changes so fast that getting a good job and working hard isn’t enough anymore to give you a good life for you and your family.

 

The Good:

Possibly the best book out there to teach yourself and your children about money. I’d tell you, its more educational than my economics class and it also points out how the sneaky government and banks get most of your salary and leave little behind. You’ll see the difference between how poor and middle-class people do against how rich people think and act, how they spend their money and where their income and assets go. There’s practically a ton of things you’ll learn here and will make your money worth it.

The Bad:

It’s very controversial that it challenges your own financial beliefs and philosophies. You’ll either be mad at Robert because you still believe that working hard and having a good paycheck will get you that brand new house you wanted and end up living in it happily ever after or your very own parents for believing in their ancient beliefs that’s rather useless nowadays. Harsh indeed is this book.

 

Rating: 10/10

Leave a Reply

